United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) 2022 Scholarships and grants for International students

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) was founded in the year 1945 as the successor to the League of Nations’ International Committee on Intellectual Cooperation. It is an agency of the United Nations (UN) that is aimed at promoting world peace and security through international cooperation in education, arts, sciences, and culture. There are 193 member state of UNESCO.

Functions of UNESCO

  • it assists in the translation and dissemination of world literature
  • it helps establish and secure World Heritage Sites of cultural and natural importance
  • its works to bridge the worldwide digital divide, and creates inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication.
  • It has launched initiatives and global movements, such as Education For All

Several UN entities (including UNESCO), educational institutions and others provide scholarships and other forms of funding for education and research to LDC nationals. Below are some of the scholarships.

Available scholarships

  • The IPCC Scholarship Programme is available for young scientists from developing countries working on issues related to climate change. Students from LDCs and SIDS researching topics within the field of study indicated in the call for applications are given priority.
  • Under UNESCO’s Fellowships Programmes there are several opportunities for nationals of developing countries. Some of the fellowships prioritize nationals of LDCs.
    • The UNESCO/Republic of Korea Co-Sponsored Fellowships Programme offers scholarships for nationals of LDCs to participate in a 2-month training programme on education in the Republic of Korea.
    • Through the UNESCO/Keizo Obuchi Research Fellowships Programme, the Government of Japan offers 10 fellowships to candidates from developing countries. Special attention is given to those who wish to pursue their research studies in Japan, to women, candidates from LDCs, Africa and SIDS countries who aim to study in a number of predefined areas. More information at UNESCO Keizo Obuchi fellowships
  • UNESCO also gives priority and provides financial support to nationals of LDCs (along with other country groupings) through its Participation Programme and offers a limited number of scholarships to some LDC candidates for education and training at several UNESCO centres.
  • The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) Research Professors Programme provides institutions and research groups located in LDCs with the opportunity to establish long-term links with TWAS members to assist in research activities and advanced training and so help develop the local scientific capacities. TWAS Members are appointed to institutions in LDCs for a period of five years, during which they visit the host institution three times for a minimum stay of one month each time.
  • The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award recognizes scientists from LDCs. It carries a cash award of USD4,000. The 2022 award will honour a scientist working in an area relevant to sustainability.
  • The UN Technology Bank for Least Developed Countries, TWAS and ICGEB  offer early-career scientists from LDCs, aged 45 or under exchange visits of up to 6-months at the ICGEB laboratories in Trieste (Italy), New Delhi (India) and Cape Town (South Africa). Under the programme agreement called PACTs (ProgrAmme of CollaboraTions with LDCs), students work in the fields of biomedicinebiotechnology and agriculture. The Programme also includes a scheme to provide training in biotechnology policy and regulatory science by ICGEB experts.
  • The International Design Education (IDE) Program provides scholarships for students from LDCs for a Master’s degree in industrial design engineering at Zheijang University. The scholarship was launched in 2021 by the UN Technology Bank, the World Eco-Design Conference and Zheijang University.
  • The Organization for Women for Science for Developing World (OWSD) has a fellowship programme for female students LDCs and a list of another 19 countries who wish to pursue postgraduate training leading to a Ph.D. outside their home countries.
  • The University of California Berkeley Law School LDC Scholarship grants a waiver of half of the tuition for LL.M. programmes for nationals of LDCs.
  • Nationals of LDCs and other developing countries are given high priority for scholarships for the University of Barcelona´s Master of Laws in International Economic Law and Policy (IELPO LL.M.).
  • UNITAR provides fellowships for diplomatic training

Application Link: https://www.un.org/ldcportal/content/scholarships

Related Articles

Recent Articles